Cereals

Tapioca is a starch extracted from the storage roots of the cassava plant. This species is native to the north region and central-west region of Brazil, but its use spread throughout South America. The plant was carried by Portuguese and Spanish explorers to most of the West Indies and Africa and Asia. Tapioca is gluten-free, nut-free, and grain-free. It won’t cause problems for people with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and nut allergies. Tapioca flour can be found in many gluten-free products. It’s a good option for allergen-free baking at home. It’s also an alternative to white flour for thickening soups, sauces, and pie fillings.